I thought it would be fun to look away from what’s happening in HorrorScope and to look at what has happened with HorrorScope.  It’s still weird for me, frankly, when I pull up my work and see triple-digit pages for this monster I started only a few months ago.  I’ve even knocked out a play test and showed it off at Metatopia.

 

What?

 

This whole thing just happened.  Maybe it was the mix of a few drinks and a bad horror movie that fateful night, but it just freaking happened and kept happening. 

 

Since it’s still in progress and my “real person” job is preventing me from making much headway on HorrorScope right now; I’m giving you a little snippet of the actual game information in its present state, starting with the very first section on the first text page.

 

**I would like to stress that this is a raw version of the text from the Real Ultimate Hard Alpha Edition of HorrorScope.  The text as it is presented may change as we move through edits, etc**

 

“For centuries, we’ve all danced around the truth.   The one simple fact that either condemns or saves our quaint little ball of dirt that floats through the infinity of space.

“Monsters” are goddamn real and we’re only one step away from a horror movie every day we breath (or not.)

The vamps were the first to out themselves, but not long after all of the other things that humanity thought they made up started crawling out of the woodwork.  Cause and effect were simple to determine after that. Monsters are real, monsters get taxed and beat up just like any other controversial minority. Monsters get segregated, monsters get sympathizers. Both sides find themselves in a worse spot than they were before.

The Far Right pushes harder than ever to cultivate the fear of the people to further its own agenda. The Far Left falls before the newest constituents in need of help and gets played for a fool by the more savvy of predators.  The bleeding hearts and the iron fists put us all in this hole, there was no room for shades of gray anymore.  The world is in fear, and forAmericathat’s where president Benedict Harper comes in.

His policies are hard,Americais now stuck between 1984 and 1950.  Other countries are quick to follow suit. Good job leeches, you’ve made it harder to be different than ever before.

Horror Scope is a d6 driven game that can take any face you like. If you want to run a game of vastly different creatures just trying to survive, it’s here. If you want a game of heavy role play and political intrigue, it’s here. If you want to create a bloodfest that rivals your favorite grindhouse or B movie, we’ve got that too. You only have one goal in Horror Scope: survive what the Director has in store for you.”

 

My goal is simple as I’m crafting and writing this game.  I want to give you the rules and setting to make the greatest horror movie of your dreams come to (un)life with pencils and dice.  What you and the Director do with it after that is limited only by how twisted your head is.  In the last few months, I have learned a lot more about independent gaming.  The big rule that sticks out to me since I’ve been exposed to the community is this: make it fun and make it interesting.  Granted, that fits my agenda from day one; but it was great to see that I wasn’t just my stance on it. 

 

Speaking of community, check out http://revelationsrpg.wordpress.com for a very different take on the supernatural.  I met these guys at Metatopia, they’re good guys with a great game concept.

 

As for me, I’ll see you guys when my next blog post crosses over to the other side.  Keep it scary kids.

 

-Vex

Leave a comment